Code Enforcement

CodeEnfVehicle

The City of Half Moon Bay is OPEN for business! 

RECENT UPDATE (May 19, 2020): 

While City facilities are currently closed until May 31, 2020 in response to the San Mateo County Health Officer’s updated COVID-19 Shelter Order, helpful info on County Health Ordinance site, County Health FAQs. Community Development Department employees are working from home and in the field. We are readily available via email to continue accepting and processing applications for Building and Planning Permits and to answer questions, see below.

We wish you all healthy regards and look forward to seeing you at City Hall soon!

Master Fee Schedule

Building Permits: Benjamin Corrales (bcorrales@hmbcity.com) is accepting, processing and issuing building permits in digital format (via email and other means, please coordinate with Ben to convey large files and plans). 

Building Inspection: the City is offering virtual inspections through photos and videos to the extent possible. On-site inspections will be conducted for final inspections or critical life safety matters. Please call the inspection hotline to request a building inspection at 650-726-8794; and for encroachment permits call 650-750-2004.

Planning Permits: Doug Garrison (dgarrison@hmbcity.com), Scott Phillips (sphillips@hmbcity.com), and Brittney Cozzolino (bcozzolino@hmbcity.com) are continuing to process Planning Permit applications submitted prior to City Hall closure and are accepting new applications in digital format (via email). Public hearings are being conducted via virtual meeting formats with the Planning Commission and Community Development Director. Sign up to receive agendas here.

Code Enforcement: Joe Butcher (jbutcher@hmbcity.com or 650-726-8285 is covering code enforcement needs throughout the City to enforce the San Mateo County Shelter Order and for all other matters. He is checking email and voicemail frequently. 

Department Head: Jill Ekas (jekas@hmbcity.com) is available by email and phone at 650-726-8264.

  1. Code Enforcement


    Physical Address
    501 Main Street
    Half Moon Bay, CA 94019

    Phone: 650-726-8253

    Hours:
    Tuesdays and Thursdays
    8 am - 5 pm

Filing a Code Enforcement Complaint

Anyone who feels code violation is taking place is encouraged to file a complaint, and should be prepared to provide specific information such as:

  • The address of the property where the alleged violation is occurring
  • The reporting party's contact information
  • A detailed description of the alleged violation being observed