State of California - Cannabis Overview & Links

Proposition 64, the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA), was approved by California voters on November 8, 2016, and took effect on November 9, 2016.

The AUMA and subsequent legislation, the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act, create a state-level regulatory and licensing system for the commercial cultivation, testing, and distribution of cannabis (both medicinal and adult-use), and the manufacturing and sale of cannabis products. The State of California has developed these regulations, many of which took effect January 2, 2018. 

Under the law, local governments have the authority to completely prohibit, or to regulate and license, commercial cannabis activities in their jurisdictions.

Here are links to the State of California’s official websites related to commercial cannabis activities:

The AUMA legalized under state law the nonmedical use of marijuana by persons 21 years of age and over and the cultivation of up to six marijuana plants per residence for personal use by adults. Under state law, personal cultivation must occur in a locked space and must not be visible from a public place.

There are limitations to the legal use of marijuana. Under state law it is illegal to use marijuana:

  • In any public place
  • Anywhere that smoking tobacco is also prohibited (i.e. private establishments like restaurants, bars, places of work)
  • Within 1,000 feet of a school, day care center, or youth center while children are present (i.e. Ted Adcock)
  • While driving, or riding in the passenger seat of, any vehicle used for transportation